What Does it Mean to be Blessed?

bless·ed
adjective

1. consecrated; sacred; sanctified.
2. worthy of adoration, reverence, or worship: the Blessed Trinity.
3. favored; fortunate
4. blissfully happy.
5. beatified.
6. bringing happiness and thankfulness

Pick any of the definitions above if you think it suites your current situation or phrase.

For me, I pick number three my lord!

Pick Number 3 My Lord

(Those of you that have watched Shrek will appreciate that reference)

In all seriousness, I choose number three.

My fabulous family and friends decided to make me a scrapbook so I could look at it when I missed home. Backed by my incredible mother, I now have a scrapbook filled with pictures and words of encouragement from those that I love the most. There are 55 pages of pictures, letters, and jokes I can share with all these great people from thousands of miles away. You all are my inspiration.

Scrapbook Scrapbook Scrapbook

Ever since I was a child, I knew that my family was fortunate. Parents that love each other, brothers and sisters that love each other, friends that care about my well-being:does the list end? The fact that there was a roof over my head and food on the table every night was enough. Some people are not blessed with all of these privileges. So why in the world would I choose to leave?

Other than the obvious answer everybody is thinking: You are twenty-two and need to live on your own. Grow up woman! Maybe a better question would have been: So why would I choose to leave this all behind for a different culture and lifestyle, filled with other people?

Other than my burning curiosity of what every crevice on this planet holds, why would I limit myself? Yes, I have a wonderful life that is filled with fabulous people, but why limit it to just those people? Traveling has given me not only experiences that one could never gain in Western New York, but forever friends.

You never realize what you have until you leave. These adventures have taught me to be grateful. With every new place that I am to explore, I will be blessed with knowledge, new friends, and experience.


This is what being blessed means to me. What does it mean to you? 

2 thoughts on “What Does it Mean to be Blessed?

  1. You have a curiosity I wish I had. Can’t wait to hear all about your adventures. We are blessed to have such a great family. That is one thing I wouldn’t trade for the world.

    Like

  2. I just reread your second post on being blessed. It meant a lot to me today that you reached out to me and that we were able to talk so long yesterday. Our family is a blessing, a blessing that will carry us through. I appreciate and used to share 🙂 your sense of adventure and curiosity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

